Spring Trends For Goths: Sales, Things to Look Out For and a Bit of Sarcastic Banter

You know what’s great about winter trends? Other than the obvious details like studs or leather that alternatives, or at least some of them, love to have in stores all around them for a change? I think you know where I’m going with this. It’s the sales of them after the trend has past!

pin-up
This is a photo by dontshoot.me! on Flcikr

Over in the land of a current Spring (AKA, not my hemisphere – but that’s what the internet is for) there should be an overload of the items brought in for winter. Though by the complaining I’ve heard from some of you guys over there spring is being fashionably late. But here’s a little list of the things you might want to keep an eye on and where.

Sales Trends To Look Out For

Three trends that I watched non-Goths take on in entirely different ways that were spat back out way too soon are camoflague, oxblood and baroque. Oxblood is great for adding some colour into your wardrobe – even if just in scarf form – since it goes hand in hand with black. For some inspiration on how to wear camo check out this post on adding elements of Military Goth into your wardrobe.

To all the stores I’ve seen attempt baroque, a trend that I really didn’t see much love for, it seemed less than fruitful and more-so tacky. And this is coming from someone that was happily ready to bring in some new printed pieces!

“New” Trends To Take Advantage Of:

I wouldn’t call them new trends as trends seem to go in circles. This is really obvious in the current Mod and lace trends (but does lace ever actually go out of style?). Speaking of Mod, look out for shift dresses, Twiggy eyeliner and Geometric patterns. Beyond that are metallic‘s which have been huge since the Summer/Spring lines came out and which I’m really ready to jump on with my currently metallic pink nails. I’ve been itching to snatch up a silver metallic skater-skirt for quite some time. Be prepared to be in the front row of what will probably be a disaster.

Wave Gotik Treffen 2012 / 26.05.
Photo by Danny Sotzny on Flickr

Are you going to be jumping onto the sales for your deliciously Gothy look? Mainstream trends, particularly on sale are a great way to stock up on simple things you can use all year. I like to look out for thrift-stores that get the bulk of trend-stock that didn’t sell and resell it at super-ridiculously low prices.

8 thoughts on “Spring Trends For Goths: Sales, Things to Look Out For and a Bit of Sarcastic Banter

  1. I like to get my “statement” pieces from the trends, cross leggings, platform boots, etc. and I do the same as you, get the base parts of my wardrobe from thrifting.

    I'm really digging the faux knee stock stocking look, I need to get some of those as they are a brilliant idea! One less layer and they stay up 😉

  2. I like to browse the sale racks of stores when they phase out their fall and winter clothes, but I never seem to find anything.

    I'm really hoping to find some new skirts and layering pieces.

Leave a comment