If I Can’t Be My Own Goth, I Don’t Want To Be Anyones

This is a post in the series of The Goth Challenge altered by Darkstalker Girl from a former Lolita Challenge. Find more information here. This is a combination of challenge seven and eight – even though I barely answered the questions.

In some peoples eyes I don’t look like a Goth. Sure, when I’m laying around the house in pastel boxers and one of Coen’s shirts I don’t look like a Goth at all – but the rest of the time I consider my style to be varying degrees of the fashion: dressing down for interviews and family reunions, over the top when I feel like being bothered and most of the time a mixture of the two.

goths
Photo by Gothopotam on Flickr

The general public and media have a tenancy to personify Goths and all of Goth culture as a over-the-top, knee-high boots wearing and corset training person. Of course, this is far from true with the ridiculous amount of sub-styles including romantic, Trad, technically Deathrock (click here to read my article on Why Deathrock ISN’T (or wasn’t) a sub-genre of Goth) and mixtures of sub-styles and other subcultures entirely.

But it’s very evident that Goths generalise Goth fashion just as much as the media does – you wouldn’t think it was possible but it’s true. Many other bloggers have written about the ‘elitist goth’ but like many topics this isn’t as clear cut an issue as some make it out to be. 

Some claim you can’t be a Goth because of your style preferences. For instance, you don’t often see me walking around with teased hair or wearing corsets. This limits the subculture to the greatest extent and prevents members from enjoying aesthetics they adore – which is what modern Goth Subculture is suppose to be all about! 

Screw them! – is my mantra, I will dress however I damn well please.

Do you dress like the Gothiest Goth that ever Gothed? Or do you like to mix other styles in with your own?

11 thoughts on “If I Can’t Be My Own Goth, I Don’t Want To Be Anyones

  1. Yes! It's all about being yourself! I love people just dressing in a way that makes them happy! I have my own style, everyone else has theirs, that's great. I often see Gothy people in casual black clothes. Maybe most people just wouldn't pick them as goth. But who cares, you don't have to dress up to be recognised!

  2. I'm far from the ghotiest goth that ever gothed. Compared to the hardcore goths I look rather mainstream. Compared to mainstream people I look rather goth. Stuck in between.

  3. I'm next-to-never over the top during the day and/or week. I've always been that way, I'm just more subdues, which is why I wanted to start my blog to show the day-to-day. I love to get gussied up for shows, special events and the club 😉
    I think you have great style and don't need to limit yourself to anything! =D

  4. These days I don't really look much goth either. The black hairdye has faded and now I have my natural brown back. I don't wear any make-up anymore, and I feel like I have grown out of the usual styles like cybergoth and romantic goth.
    I still wear a lot of black, but these days I am also inspired by other (Japanese) styles and even some high fashion brands.

    But I don't care anymore if I look goth or not to others. I feel much more relaxed and happy when I wear whatever I want instead of trying to look goth.
    And besides that, being goth for me was always about the music first.

    So just continue to wear whatever you want to wear!

  5. Yes, like VelvetBat just mentioned, Goth is a musical subculture – the fashion is secondary. I don't care what goths look like – I care more about what's on their mp3 player 😉

    Saying that, I've been told I'm pretty over-the-top even when I think I'm being 'casual', LOL 😛

  6. I agree with Michelle. Goth is a musical subculture first and foremost, born out of punk rock with some glam thrown in for drama. Fashion, for me, will always come second. I used to dress more the part, but these days I would rather dress retro and vintage. I like the way I look in vintage and retro inspired clothing. As I get older and deeper in my profession, tailoring and material have become very important to me.. Though, I will admit, I feel most comfortable with very little makeup, jeans, a thirst and my hair in a ponytail.

  7. It's middle fingers time =P
    I <3 this post...
    I'm here because it feels more comfortable than the other options I could pigeonhole myself into…
    I'm here for the people who do what they want and try and have a good time whilst they do it. yay for darker themes, but go with the heart and in my eyes you can't go wrong for yourself =)

  8. I love Romantic and Aristo fashion, but I only go all out when I have nothing too practical to do, because a)it gets in the way and b)I can't afford to replace it and don't have time to sew all day. Most of the time I'm in black combats and a black turtle neck, often without makeup, but usually with spikes, or in work clothes. I like the all black aesthetic, and own very few colours, which is one stereotype, at least.

  9. I absolutely think that you should ALWAYS dress however you damned well please!! Fashion is fun but it is not the most important part of the subculture and it does get kind of boring when people wear what is typically considered “goth” all the time. I am all for doing your own thing.

  10. Oh, I believe you should always dress in a way that makes you feel comfortable. I mix and match things from various styles and I reckon that can be a bit confusing for people who don't look beyond someone's clothing, because you don't fit 100% into a certain stereotype. However, I wouldn't be true to myself if I'd limit myself to only wearing black, or only wearing long flowing dresses for example.

Leave a comment