Wishlist | Accessories that Make the Nu-Goth

Now, I’m not one to talk about accessories much. I’m much more of a big picture – shoes or coat – kind of person. But there’s no doubt in my mind that accessories are what turn a few pieces of clothing into an outfit. They’re especially important for styles like Nu-Goth styles, that prefer a combining lots of elements for an overload-of-aesthetics kind of vibe. (Am I making any sense?)

 photo Nu-GothWishlistREDONE_zps2ade298a.jpg

Achille Hat

What would a Nu-Goth be without their trademark headwear? Whether that be a pentagram encrusted beanie or a hat positioned just so on the back out their head. (I always wonder if people can actually wear hats on the back of their heads all day.) Here I’ve opted for a conch banded slightly floppy hat, because I’m kind of obsessed with conch details and I hope no one will mistake it for a fedora.

Lime Crime Velvetine in Salem

A lot of people are don’t like Lime Crime due to their history. But my personal opinion is only that the products I’ve tried I have liked. Anyway, the darker shades look like they would (and do, in a lot of Nu-Goth blogs) make a great Nu-Goth lip colour that dry matte so that it’ll last all day and wouldn’t get stuck in your totally hardcore hair, right?

I’m in love with the colour Salem because I think it’d be a nice change to my usual red tinted lip with still ticking my warm toned check-box. I will be trying this in the future, so stay tuned for that!

Crossed up Ring

Could a Nu-Goth really have too many crosses? Or too many rings? This ring is a perfect fit for a stacked-up look. It’d fit perfectly with my Metalhead Jewellery rings, and even my more delicate Bones N Birds Mus Hip Knuckle Ring would create a nice balance between the heavy crosses. While I prefer a load of metal on my fingers, for a super Nu-look throw it on with as many crystals, runes and moons you can find. The more rings, the more bad-ass.

Pentagram Earrings

What can I say? These earrings are not for the faint of heart. As an atheist (formerly Catholic) I’m all for wearing religious insignia – which is what I consider the pentagram to be – but be warned that it’s probably a good idea to understand what you’re representing.

Well, there you have it. A comprehensive list of the things I’m dying to try out. What kind of accessories do you think of when you think of Nu-Goth?
 photo Signature_zps193474a4.jpg

6 thoughts on “Wishlist | Accessories that Make the Nu-Goth

  1. That's great to hear! I've been working pretty hard to try to minimize the amount of large images I use (the whole right column used to be an image) so that the page will load faster. :3 I glad it's working.

Leave a comment